What’s next? A career top 10 list.

ingrid (vdh) burton
5 min readOct 8, 2020

A good friend of mine, a successful marketing executive, recently retired. We got on Zoom and I asked him how he was spending his time and what was next for him. He laughed, because after cleaning out closets and the garage, he actually didn’t know what to do next. We ended up brainstorming some interesting ideas for paths he might take now. Think of it as a new style of Top 10 list. Here we go:

1. Take the calls and take another position

Just because my friend retired from his company, doesn’t mean he is actually done. He might consider other roles at perhaps a startup, a non-profit, or other organization either as a full time executive or maybe a consultant. Despite COVID, there seem to be endless opportunities. I know I have a list of companies that are looking for a seasoned marketing executive. It’s tempting to jump right in, but then there are so many things to consider from culture, chemistry/fit, passion for the technology and company, and growth strategy. One never knows where this road will lead you.

2. Become a company advisor

Another option is to be an advisor to a board or CEO, which is a great way to stay involved and current. Advising is different than being on a board, but can be very fulfilling as it can be more ad-hoc than scheduled board or committee meetings. One company that I advised simply wanted to brainstorm and fine-tune their marketing efforts and update their brand and positioning in the market. When they incorporated my input, it was truly rewarding to see it make it to the market.

3. Stay engaged and join a board

Every company whether a startup, private or public company has a board of directors. The experience of being “on the other side of the table” to the executive management team, is invaluable. Each side has so much to learn from each other, that it is natural for an executive to join a company as an independent director for a board. It’s actually a great way to learn, stay engaged and involved, while overseeing what is happening at the company, and help lend your expertise and wisdom to asking the right questions of the companies’ management team. Each type of company has different board dynamics as well as challenges and opportunities. And each can be highly rewarding for a seasoned professional. I have really learned a lot with my board seats, and still have more to learn and give as I become even more experienced at it.

4. Pass on your knowledge and teach

Here’s a fun idea that piqued the interest of my friend, who coincidentally was my first manager when I entered marketing, and that is to teach. He was always a great teacher. Many colleges have adjunct professors which are professionals that are teaching students on their particular area of expertise. I know one of my own college kids got a lot out of the classes taught by adjunct professors who had actually been entrepreneurs in Silicon Valley. In fact, taking your experience and passing it onto a new generation is a great way to give back and stay current.

5. Follow your personal passions and dreams

Having worked for several decades, I have had those days where I would dream about what I would do if I really had the time. I’d dream about gardening, traveling, doing yoga, training for an ultra-marathon, taking horse back riding lessons, learning to paint, reading more, writing, and more. If one has the time, it can be used to pursue your passions. It will also help you regain your energy, give you a sense of accomplishment as well as purpose. Of course, the other given is to spend more time with family and friends now that you have it.

6. Learn and re-learn

Ok, this idea is something we agreed would be actionable and fun immediately. Why not take online classes? My secret wish was always to go back and take calculus — yes, I’m a math major, but it would be so great to go all the way back and start taking my math classes again. The second time around might actually go faster and make a lot more sense. The other benefit about taking classes is that we can try new subjects, invest in more personal brain growth, and expand our field of knowledge. As someone that recently left a high pressure executive position, I can’t wait to start learning again, and maybe even pursue a new degree. Why not? Its never too late to learn something new, and perhaps pursue a new career that is entirely different.

7. Pay it forward and mentor

This is one that is near and dear to my heart. So many people would love to get a mentor and advice. In fact, I’m currently mentoring many people from college kids to professionals in a variety of fields. It is so rewarding and is a way to pay it forward. Conversely, I’m being mentored for the board work that I am doing, so I can be better at that as well. Reverse mentorship works too. That actually is another way to learn from the current generation about new techniques or technologies. Whether being mentored or mentoring, both sides stand to gain.

8. Give back and volunteer

Now is time to give back and help wherever your community needs you. With COVID, that might be a bit limited for in person volunteer work, but there are other ways to help. I was recently encouraged to get training to help the suicide hotline where I would be able to help people in crisis from home over the phone. I’m still considering this one, since my days of volunteering at the local hospital as a NICU cuddler has completely been suspended due to COVID. But there are so many other ways to volunteer, find one and give back.

9. Share your experiences or ideas: Write about it.

Writing is something that we both enjoy doing. We even thought about collaborating on a book about our experiences. But first, its time to write blogs and get the creativity flowing. This is my first blog in over 2 1/2 years…. now that I have time, I intend to write more and impart what I’ve learned. I see writing as a way to communicate with my young adult kids and their friends. They actually have gotten a lot out of my previous series of blog posts with topics that range from career advice to personal stories.

10. Just take time for yourself

This was actually the advice I think we should all consider. When was the last time that you had some real time for yourself, or your family? Working in the tech world is a long hard road. Maybe this is the time for him to consider himself fortunate and take some time to just be. He deserves it. And then when he’s really ready, he can explore some of the other options in front of him.

For anyone at a career cross roads, I wish you the best of luck as you consider all the wonderful possibilities in front of you.

--

--

ingrid (vdh) burton

CMO passionate technology marketeer Woman in Tech runner outdoorsy proud wife & mom